top of page

Desperate Literature


Photo via Desperate Literature Facebook page

Desperate Literature

by Madelaine Grace

An amazing aspect about becoming an Auxiliar de Conversación (English teacher) in Madrid is the community of teachers in the area. I’ve joined Facebook groups, meet up pages, and downloaded apps, in order to find places of interest and meet likeminded people.

One page I thankfully stumbled across was the Desperate Literature Facebook page. A quaint little bookstore established by the loveliest people here in Madrid. English and Spanish novels coat the shelves among other languages. They hold a variety of events each week and its atmosphere has been the most comforting I’ve found since I’ve arrived.

Photo via google

“Desperate Literature strives to be a space where good literature serves as a vehicle for dynamic cultural, linguistic and social exchange between Madrileños, extranjeros and travelers from around the world. In this spirit we look forward to hosting readings, meetings, gallery shows, lectures, and more.” –Desperate Literature [Facebook page]

A professor of mine once told me that a lot of writers studying the craft in college often end up, hardly writing again after they graduate. In my experience I’ve found this to hold true because it’s easy to fall away from the prompting environment where writing opportunities are abundant. Life seems to get in the way, lack of time dissuades the creative mind, and busy schedules detract from inspiration.

I’ve chosen travel as my writing prompt. These experiences are what I want to indulge in and utilize as an outlet of my expression. Desperate Literature reminded me of that, and I’m very excited to visit again for a poetry reading, prose event, or simply to peruse their beautiful bookshelves.

I’m excited to find more places of interest around Spain. There is so much to explore in this lovely city. Stay tuned for a list of more bookshops around Madrid!

Location: Calle Campomanes, 13, 28013 Madrid, Spain


bottom of page